The Moose Lodge


[HOME] [BLOG] [ART] [ABOUT ME]

February 8, 2024 - On How to Consume Media

Is there really a proper way to consume media? I saw a video in my recommended (who I may pass no judgement on since I havent actually WATCHED the video) on how to consume media. I had pondered this for a while becuase I wsnt quite a aware there was a proper way to consume media. When I watch a movies, play a video games, read a book, listen ot music, or even observe art in a gallery, am I suppose to always have a conscious and purposful way of looking at that media. Im not entirely sure. We all consume media in different ways that may help us understand the artists intention and what we may take away from said work, however, is there really some secret guide book too it? I would assume this more or less talking about "deeper" art, which, what are the qualifications for that. It seems subjective. Its often fun to speculte in what conditions the artist may want their audience to consume their media in but sometimes we will never know. As an artist I dont think its right to tell people how to observe your work. Its like saying "Enjoy this food, but only on Saturday, and when its raining, and there is matchstick man outisde your window or what have you". Its also reminds me of those who say things like, "You can only enjoy pyshcidelic rock under the influence.". This certainly maybe true, however, everyone is free to consume art the way they see fit. Being gatekeep-y about it is very counter productive. (I used to listen to music a pitch higher as a kid...ye). Just have fun ya'll. NO stress. -cheers